Paralysis by analysis - Web3 edition.

Paralysis by analysis - Web3 edition.

·

4 min read

I first came across the phrase “paralysis by analysis” when I started the gym a few years ago. If you haven’t heard of this phrase, it meant that you kept overthinking so much that you halted your progress. It’s something that I am seeing in many new web3 developers, so this post will include some tips to prevent that from happening!

In the gym, this could mean that you kept trying to perfect your routine and kept swapping between different routines, which kept you “paralysed” / hindering your progress. Instead, you should pick a routine and follow it for 6-8 weeks, then re-evaluate your progress and see what changes need to be made now. 🏋️

exercise-workout.gif

I am a web3 developer newbie myself, but I learned from my past experiences to not over-analyze. Instead, I should start studying instead of designing the perfect routine.

It’s important to acknowledge that in web3, there is a lot of information that can be very confusing, but fortunately, there are a lot of resources out there now compared to before. This means less trial-and-error but more tried-and-tested methods. So even though it can be scary and intimidating to learn web3, remember it is a marathon, not a sprint.

claire.gif

Web3 resources 💻

Here is a list of a few web3 resources to get you started:

I have spoken about my experience of Buildspace here, and it is a resource I highly recommend using. Once I have brushed up on my front-end developer skills, I will check out some of the other resources, but they have been great resources from community feedback.

SO PICK ONE AND STICK WITH IT. They are all great resources, but Buildspace is the leader, and they have more alumni, so it may be worth checking them out first!

Food for thought 🍲

“Take life one step at a time. If you look at the mountain ahead of you, that can scare you so much that you stop walking. Keep your head down and take it one step at a time.”⛰️

cat.gif

I may have paraphrased the quote, but it’s something my dad would mention to me when I was growing up. It’s a quote that has stuck with me, and I know it’s essential to tackle a task than overanalyse and get stuck in a rut.

Don't waste time thinking about how scary a task is. If you are intimidated by the distance, then you have already lost. Taking it step by step makes it more manageable.

Social media like Twitter or Reddit makes it easy to compare yourself to someone else but remember everyone is on their own journey and it does not matter how long you take. People only show the good parts of their lives or the success they have had.

A lot of people don't show the years of hard work that have gone into creating their "overnight success".🤑

Ignore all the noise around you and focus on your goals.

groot-guardians-of-the-galaxy.gif

The danger of twitter 🐦

Even as I use Twitter, I see everyone’s roadmaps to becoming a web developer.

  • “Best roadmap for web developers”
  • “The fastest way to become a web developer”
  • “Top resources for new web developers”

It can be so overwhelming with all these resources. Sometimes it is more important to start with one resource and finish that before heading on a new one.

Final words ❗

I appreciate that it is important to draft a roadmap for your journey, but remember that life is not all straight lines. There are a lot of ups and downs, and your roadmap will continually change. You can’t plan out every bit of your life, and if you do, it may feel like your limiting yourself.

My holidays are over, and I am just getting back to studying again. I aim to finish scrimba in the next few months, and after that, I will create some portfolio projects to build a good foundation for my web development skills.

scr.png

After that, I am not sure what I will study next, but I know there are many resources, and I would rather not worry about that right now. By the time I finish Scrimba, there could be even more web3 resources for my use instead.

All I know is that I will keep my head down and finish scrimba.